Rule 18-5 — Ball in Play Moved by Another Ball
(R & A Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2010 — 2011)

18-5 BY ANOTHER BALL

If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball
must be replaced.

Some Examples:

18-5/2: Q. A player’s provisional ball played from the tee strikes and moves his
original ball. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty. The original ball must be replaced (Rule 18-5)

Related Decisions:

3-3/7 Original Ball strikes second ball or vice versa

19-5/5 Provisional ball struck by original ball

15/10 Ball thrown into bounds by outside agency and played; neither player nor
caddies aware of action of outside agency

18-1/3 Player unaware ball moved by outside agency does not replace ball

19-2/6 Ball deflect3ed or stopped by players golf cart being pulled by OPPONENT or

FELLOW-COMPETITOR.



